RATES       _______________________________ LM __________________________________

La Mirada Soccer Association Boys Football Club South State Cup Mayors Division 13U Champs

The La Mirada Soccer Association’s Boys Football Club Team was recognized by La Mirada City Council for their achievements at the 2024 Cal South State Cup Mayors Division 13U Championship. They were a defensive machine giving up only two goals the entire tournament, no goals after the round of 16.

June 11, 2024

Staff Report

The La Mirada City Council recognized the La Mirada Soccer Association signature team La Mirada Football Club (FC) at its May 28 City Council meeting. 

The team was recognized for their achievements at the 2024 Cal South State Cup Mayors Division 13U Championship. 

This season, the La Mirada FC had great success with tournament play. 

La Mirada FC entered the annual Cal South State Cup and based on its ranking was placed in the Mayors Division. 

The tournament consisted of 54 teams from five major counties in Southern California and was held over the course of three weekends in February.  

La Mirada FC started the tournament with a tie, then played dominantly over its subsequent matches. 

Over the course of the tournament only two goals were scored against the team. 

In the round of 16, La Mirada FC beat its opponent 6–0. In the quarter final, La Mirada FC won 4–0. 

In the semi-final, La Mirada FC managed to secure its place in the final match with a 2–0 victory. In the final match, La Mirada FC defeated Santa Ynez FC 1–0. 

At the conclusion of the tournament, La Mirada FC was crowned 2024 Cal South State Cup Mayors Division 13U champions.  

The La Mirada FC team was led by Team Manager Ramon Jauregui, Team Parent Heidi Jauregui, and Coaches Mario Diaz and Matthew Wight. The team includes the following players: Miles Diaz, Ryan Duchene, Elijah Estrella, Noah Figueroa, Noah Jauregui, James Lagman, Christopher Lee, Cooper Lee, Michael Marshall, Eric McMartin, Abel Ortega, Elliot Perea, Angel Rigsby, Avi Smolinsy, Jordan Suarez, Edwin Tapia, Nikolai Vega, and Matthew Wight Jr.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *